Our History 2019-08-09T18:09:48+01:00

Post-Second World War
After playing in the wartime Hythe and District League, the Club joined the Southampton Junior League and in 1946 won the Division One title and appeared in the final of the Senior Cup losing to NDLC. However, the following season the Club won the Cup and were Southampton League West Division champions. After this with progression in mind, the Club applied to join the Hampshire League and made their debut in Division Three West in the 1950/1 season. Although title winners the following season, the Club did not move into Division Two until 1956/7. They remained in this division for the next four seasons but were relegated at the end of 1959/60.

The 1970s
Bad fortune lasted for 15 years as the Club dropped into Division Four, were promoted in 1974/5 after finishing third but dropped back again in 1979/80. Then in 1981/2 the Hampshire League reorganised and Division Four was swallowed up by Division Three and as runners-up promotion was secured to Division Two.
After three seasons in Division Two, promotion was gained to the top division, overhauling runaway leaders, Locksheath, with a last match win at Cowes.

In the first season in the top flight, the Club finished a creditable tenth. In the following seasons, the Club established itself as one of the most consistent teams in the league with eleven top six finishes including, three-second places and then won the elusive Championship in 1997/8.

The Wessex League
With the establishment of the Wessex League in 1986/87, the Club recognised to compete against the best in local football; the long-term aim had to be elevation to the new league. With the emphasis for entry into the league being on facilities as much as ability on the pitch, negotiations were opened with Fawley District Council for a long lease on a ground which gave the Club the necessary security to develop it to the required standard. The pitch at Gang Warily was identified and the Council provided a playing surface that is still to this day, the envy of many teams and the enthusiastic Committee set about bringing the ground up to the required standard. Development continues to this day.

The best opportunity for promotion came in the Championship year 1997/8, but the funds ran out to complete ground improvements so second placed Moneyfields were promoted. The Club’s chance for promotion came two years later – a last match win at West Wight Mayflower earned the third place required and the dream had been realised after 50 seasons of Hampshire League Football. After 5 years in Wessex Division 1 the club were relegated to the new Division 2 in 2004.

Standard Charter Status
In 2004/5 the Club became only the second in Hampshire football to be awarded the FA Adult Standard Charter.

The 2008/9 season saw success return to the Club with promotion back to the top division of the Wessex League under the guidance of Jon Gittens. Jon continued for a 2nd season finishing the season mid-table. Jon left the club in the early part of the 2010/11 season and Assistant Manager Louis Bell was put in charge, with the team eventually finishing in 14th position and 16th in the subsequent season.

Wessex League Champions
The Club had an incredible 2012/13 season under the leadership of Ashley Vickers, winning the Sydenhams Wessex Premier league by 10 points, reaching the 4th Qualifying round of the FA Cup, losing 3-0 to Hastings United, and reaching the last 32 of the FA Vase.

In stark contrast, 2013/2014 season was the most tumultuous in recent years with a number of changes in playing, coaching, and management throughout the season, leaving the club unsettled for the most part. Taking on the manager’s role mid-way through the season, Kevin Gibbens, assisted by Chris Farrell, managed to finish a very credible 6th. The 2014/15 season started with John Robson taking control of the 1st team who started off brightly, but with some injuries and a general failure to score goals, the season didn’t quite pan out as planned, although the team still finished a credible 5th in the league and were Russell Cotes Cup winners.

Glenn Howes took the reins for his managerial debut in 2015/16, ultimately guiding the team to 3rd place behind Salisbury FC, missing out on the 2nd spot to Sholing with a defeat at Fareham Town on the last game of the season. The Watersiders also finished runners-up in the Southampton Senior Cup, losing heavily to defending champions Team Solent, made it to the 3rd round qualifying of the FA Cup, (losing to Maidenhead Utd) and were losing semi-finalists in the Russell Cotes Cup.

Wessex League Champions And Southern League Promotion
After another season of going close, Glenn was joined by James Wood and the Club surpassed the previous success of 2012/13, enjoying its most successful season in 2017/18, winning the Wessex Premier Division by one point in a very tight race with Andover Town and benefitted from the restructuring of Step 4 Leagues, gaining promotion for the first time to the Southern League. Last season also saw two appearances at St Marys in both the Hampshire Senior and Southampton Senior Cup finals, unfortunately losing on both occasions to Havant & Waterlooville and Southampton FC respectively. The Club also made a semi-final appearance in the Sydenhams League Cup and equaled the record in the FA Vase by reaching the last 32, eventually losing to Bracknell Town in a midweek replay.

Over the years, the Club has had their fair share of Cup success. In the 1980/90s the Club made six appearances at the Dell in the Southampton Senior Cup to add to the two in the 1940s, ending up as winners in four of them. The last success was in 1998, producing a league and cup double. In the 2000 final, the Club suffered the agony of losing 2-1 in a replay to AC Delco after a power failure led to the abandonment of the first game with 15 minutes to go and with a 2-0 lead.

Club: Blackfield & Langley

Nickname: The Watersiders

Founded: 1935

Ground: Gang Warily, SO45 1GA

Chair: Sam Davies

Manager: Glenn Howes

League: BetVictor Southern League Premier Division South

2018-19 Evo Stik Southern League Division One South Champions (promoted)

2017-18: Sydenhams Wessex League Premier Champions 1/22 (promoted)